Doty 2019

Judges: Theresa Gardinor, Alan Smirthwaite & Gillian Marley


Dalmatian of the Year 2019

Dalstorm Future Faith


Dalmatian Opposite Sex of the Year 2019

Ch Dvojica Vendetta

Dalmatian Puppy of the Year 2019

Ellemstra Tough Cookie at Shacarlu

Dalmatian Veteran of the Year 2019

Ch. Dalliviro Reba Mac at Ellemstra JW SHcM


Full results below, click on the images to select and click again to enlarge.


Vice Presidents Overview 2019

It is difficult to believe this was the 25th running of this prestigious event. I particularly feel this on a personal level as I was fortunate to be one of the Judges at the very first event sadly my co- Judges Irene Haywood and Doug Kitchener are no longer with us. Since then I have attended all bar one acting as one of the Stewards. I think it’s fair to say that the event has gone from strength to strength and while it hasn’t been without its problems over the years it remains a must attend occasion for many of us. The format has remained unchanged, in terms of choice of Judges, two breed specialists and an all breed Judge, who remain a secret until their announcement immediately prior to Judging, which as you can imagine causes much speculation.
The competition comprises 4 categories Puppy of the Year, CC winning dogs, CC winning bitches and a relatively recent addition Veteran of the Year. Dalmatian of the Year is chosen from the winner of the CC winning Dog and Bitch which could of course be the puppy or the veteran depending on their wins. The three Judges go over all the dogs individually and choose the one they want to go into the next round completely independently. It’s a tried and trusted method which seems to work well, indeed it’s fair to say lots of breeds have based their own competitions along similar lines.
This is the second year at this venue which I feel is the best yet, ideal for the dogs with excellent facilities for all. I believe it has already been booked for next years event which is already well into the planning stage. Our judges this year were Alan Smirthwaite (giving up his usual role as MC) Theresa Gardinor and Gillian Marley of Tibetan Terrier fame.
We started with the Veterans watched by a capacity audience including our Patron Lord Kirkham and his wife who are avid supporters of this event and very generous in their sponsorship. The eventual winner here was CH Dalliviro Reba Mac at Ellemstra owned by Ms E and Mr C Emmett and Simons. Straight into the puppies won by a daughter of the veteran winner owned by a very delighted and emotional owner Carol Burrows with Ellemestra Tough Cookie at Shacarlu a very popular winner.
A short break for presentation of Senior Member Badges to Angie Smith, Johnathon Goulding and David Scott – Owen for thirty years unbroken membership to the Club.
A new award the Susan Gatheral- Graham Commemorative Trophy was awarded for the first time this yeat it is given in recognition of somebody who it is felt has made a significant contribution to the breed in any capacity. Nominations and subsequent voting is from Members of the Club. Again the result is not announced until the opening of THE ENVELOPE. Though I had been nominated I never imagined I would win so was delighted and a little emotional when the President announced me as the winner. Can I thank those who nominated me and everybody who took the time to vote.
We quickly moved on to the winning dogs which was eventually won by Mark Dunnachie, no stranger to this competition this time with CH Dvojica Vendetta. Finally the bitches topped by the most travelled exhibitor having come all the way from Denmark Dalstorm Future Faith owned by Mr T Fransden.
So we came to the final, the Judges had another long hard look and finally gave their decisions to the Steward the announcement was made with the nod going to the Bitch Dalstorm Future Faith from Denmark. Well worth that long journey.
The room was then made ready for the evening festivities, where a good time was had by all well into the small hours.
Finally while any such event is very much a team effort the Club owes a huge debt of thanks to Charlotte Page for the amount of work she puts into this our Show Case. Roll on to its 26th running.
Ernie Paterson
Vice President